STATE CAPITOL P.O. BOX 942849 SACRAMENTO, CA 94249-0010 (916) 319-2010 FAX (916) 319-2110

DISTRICT OFFICE

9250 LAGUNA SPRINGS DRIVE, SUITE 220 ELK GROVE, CA 95758 (916) 670-7888 FAX (916) 670-7893

E-MAIL

Assemblymember.StephanieNguyen@assembly.ca.gov



ASSISTANT SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

ASSEMBLYMEMBER, TENTH DISTRICT

COMMITTEES

BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS
COMMUNICATIONS AND CONVEYANCE
JOBS, ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, AND
THE ECONOMY
PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT AND RETIREMENT
PUBLIC SAFETY

SELECT COMMITTEE

CHAIR: MENTAL HEALTH ACCESSIBILITY
WITHIN NON-ENGLISH SPEAKING
COMMUNITIES

March 8, 2024

The Honorable Corey Jackson Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee 2 on Human Services 1021 O Street, Room 6120 The Honorable Caroline Menjivar Chair, Senate Budget Subcomittee 3 on Health and Human Services 1020 N Street, Room 502

Re: Request for Uninterrupted Implementation of Disability Service Provider Rate Increase

Dear Chairs Jackson and Menjivar,

I respectfully request that implementation of the disability service provider rate increase continue, that was slated to begin on July 1, 2024, and not be delayed.

As you know, disability service providers assist and provide supports for those with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Chronic underfunding for decades has led to workforce shortages that are unsustainable and put individuals with disabilities and their families at risk.

Sustained funding for the disability community and the providers that serve them is crucial for the developmental disability services system to function. Delaying the rate increase will not only exacerbate work force shortages already stressing the system, but the system also could miss out on receiving potentially \$400 million in matching federal funds to support service providers.

Please join me in safeguarding California's developmental disabilities services system by supporting the service providers that individuals with disabilities and families across the state rely on.

Respectfully,

STEPHANIE NGUYEN

Assemblymember, District 10

JIM PATTERSON

Assemblymember, District 8

arles Velapudu

JOE PATTERSON
Assemblymember, District 5

CARLOS VILLAPUDUA
Assemblymember, District 13

Sunty D. Drayson

TIMOTHY GRAYSON
Assemblymember, District 15

EVAN LOW

Assemblymember, District 28

Malt. Bonta

Assemblymember, District 18

DAWN ADDIS

Assemblymember, District 30

PHILIP TING

Assemblymember, District 19

DEVON MATHIS

Assemblymember, District 33

LIZ ORTEGA

Elizate Cot

Assemblymember, District 20

TOM LACKEY

Assemblymember, District 34

Enhor

DIANE PAPAN

Assemblymember, District 21

EDUARDO GARCIA

Assemblymember, District 36

JUAN ALANIS

Assemblymember, District 22

Jan ali

Pilar Schiavo

Assemblymember, District 40

ALEX LEE

Assemblymember, District 24

JACQUI IRWIN

Assemblymember, District 42

James DAMOS

JAMES RAMOS Assemblymember, District 68

GREG WALLIS

Assemblymember, District 47

BLANCA CO. RUBIO
BLANCA RUBIO

Assemblymember, District 48

MIKE FONG Assemblymember, District 49

ELOISE GÓMEZ REYES Assemblymember, District 50

LISA CALDERON
Assemblymember, District 56

BLANCA PACHECO Assemblymember, District 64 AVELINO VALENCIA
Assemblymember, District 68

TRI TA

Assemblymember, District 70

Thimees

LAURIE DAVIES

Assemblymember, District 74

ROGER NIELLO Senator, District 6

SHANNON GROVE

Assemblymember, District 12

ROSILICIE OCHOA BOGH Senator, District 23

DAVID MIN

Senator, District 37